Treviso, located at 45 km from the Hotel Ca’ Tron, is a city to visit in every season. Walk quitly for its streets: this is the best way to appreciate it and discover its corners more hidden!
Below you can find the most important buildings of this beautiful town.
Piazza dei Signori is the heart of Treviso and it is a meeting place for its habitants. The “Palazzo dei Trecento” and the “Logga dei Cavalieri” frame the square.
The “Palazzo dei Trecento” was built in the late XII century and -with the “Torre Civica”- is that nowadays remains of the ancient municipal buildings. This masterpiece was complete in 1268, with the adjacent building used as a prisons. Over the centuries, the Palace was the seat of the Court of Consuls, place of public conferences, a place where the Podestà administered thejustice. It was also the seat of the Great Cuncil, composed of 300 members; and for this reason descends the name of the palace, know still today like “Palazzo del Trecento”. It is a massive four-sided brick building adorned with a battlements like a fortress.
The “Loggia dei Cavalieri”, which stands in Via Martiri della Libertà, is unique of its kind in Europe. The Loggia is a singular arquitecture, of a great semplicity, typical example of Treviso’s Romanesque influenced by the of the Byzantine elegance of the lagoon. At the beginning the bulit was all with frescoes. Them, from the mid-60’s of the 20th century, before the last restoration, it has hosted for a long time a secondhand book and toys market.
Another important building is the “Cathedral”, whose façade appears to us as it was made in 1836, with a wide staircase crowned by an imposing portico with six ionic columns. Two lions in red Verona’s marble which held up the porch of the Romanesque building, are to the sides of the staircase. Inside, the Cathedral has three aisles and in the central part there is the Greater Altar characterized by several decorative features such as the fresco of the apse by the artist Antonio Beni. The Chapel Malchiostro of 1520, frescoed by Pordenone, is located to the left of the main altar, beside the sacristy and it keeps a famous Annunciation by Tiziano. Finally, the Chapel of the Holy Sacrament (16th century) is on the right of the main altar and is home to the tomb of Bishop Niccolò Franco (15th century).
In 1346 the Servants of Mary, of Tuscan origin and last among the big monastic orders of medieval Italy to settle in Treviso, built in the town their convent, with the large church. When the convent suppressed in 1772 and every religious destination ceased in 1806, the buildings of the complex, including the church, became State-owned property and they were used as barracks and military warehouses. Paradoxically, it was as a result of the several damages suffered during the bombing on 7 April 1944 and 10 March 1945 that the intervention of Mario Botter (restorer and lover of art from Treviso) led to the discovery of pictorial treasure hidden for centuries under the anonymous plasters which painted the walls of the Church. These findings encouraged the decision to recover the entire complex for cultural roles. It has finally become the main seat of the Civic Museums of Treviso, after a long-lasting recovery and restoration works.
- Palazzo dei Trecento http://bit.ly/1LEx4ZE
- Loggia dei Cavalieri http://bit.ly/1LZXP5o
- The Duomo http://bit.ly/22ujdws
- Civic Museums of Treviso http://bit.ly/25jsB54
Annual events in Treviso!
- International Guitar Festival “of the two cities“ (September)
- Treviso Marathon (March) http://www.trevisomarathon.com/countdown
- Radicchio rosso di Treviso PGI http://bit.ly/1XMIImr
- and Radicchio Variegato di Castelfranco PGI http://bit.ly/1NFtjyB
- Asparago bianco di Cimadolmo PGI http://bit.ly/1RiEbDV
- Casatella Trevigiana PDO http://bit.ly/1VM3bcW
- Marroni del Monfenera PGI http://bit.ly/1ppgWQX
- DOC and DOCG wines, including the famous Prosecco http://bit.ly/1T3oJvJ
The lands of Prosecco Docg
In the north of Treviso, you can admire the “Lands of Prosecco Superiore Docg”. The visitors coming from the plain are greeted with lovely, unexpected scenery where steep inclines alternate with gentle slopes and there are endless rows of vineyards.
Here, in these beautiful lands, where everything scents of wine, local people who love their roots and have retained a taste for tradition and the pleasure of hospitality, along with that for local food products.
This is a district full of charm, of historical and artistic attractions in the valleys or in the many villages and towns scattered in the area, a pleasure to wander through while discovering the ancient traces of human in-habitance and culture. The best way to get to know this area is to follow the Prosecco and Colli Conegliano Valdobbiadene Wine Road, Italy’s oldest, which takes the visitor over theme routes to discover historic-artistic sights as well as the most prestigious crus.
These are lands of castles of the past, aristocratic villas, lone monuments, churches and hot springs of Roman times. Conegliano, Vittorio Veneto, Valdobbiadene and Pieve di Soligo are each little jewel-caskets of nature, as well as artistic and architectural treasures, all waiting to be discovered as you capture the inner rhythms of an area which still follows the ancient beat of man and nature.
For any further informations and paths: